The Orange Lab Gown


I was at my second semester when I took a course on the fundamentals of Chemistry. Aside from the lecture classes on the theories related to chemistry, we also had 3-hour laboratory sessions. In the lab sessions, we were required to wear laboratory gowns to protect us from chemicals and toxic substances.

For whatever reason I could no longer remember, I did not buy my own lab gown. A dormmate lent me his lab gown… an orange one! Very different from the usual white. But I did not mind. Even at some times, my classmates would taunt me as a fireman. And the semester went on like a normal day. Me, wearing the orange lab gown, and my classmates, offering me one or two smirks and taunts.

When our instructor announced the result of the second departmental examination with the dreaded stoichiometry composing the majority of the questions, I was one of the only two from our lab section who passed it. I was happy and I never thought of dropping the orange lab gown.

Leave a comment